Tweets

Sunday, October 3, 2010

Nothing's Interesting

Can one get excited about anything these days? Maybe I should be more specific. Can anyone get excited about anything that isn't a material possession these days? I for one, have my doubts. It seems that since all of mankind's current knowledge was put on the internet, it became very uninteresting. Think about it. An individual can find out anything about anything and what do most people spend their time doing? Watching Youtube and the plethora of boobs (not breasts) that make stupid faces or act outrageous for no reason than to act outrageous. And I can't say that I blame them or disagree with them because I have wasted my fair share of time on the Star Wars kid; Fred and the many other stupid, yet funny viral videos. Maybe the reason for the Internet (scientific discovery and collaboration) should reconsidered. Maybe people would feel more of a thirst for knowledge if it weren't so readily available. Like they say absence make the heart grow fonder.
Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Thursday, September 30, 2010

Stop the Madness

I think the world has gone mad and I believe that the proof is in advertising. If you think we're out of the recession, you could be right, but what you would have failed to realize is that advertisers believe we should go for another spin. Why else would there be ads encouraging the unemployed to go out and buy a new car. I'm not talking about some local unscrupulous, sleazy car salesman, these ads are from a major auto manufacturer. The woman in the commercial I am thinking of actually claims that she got laid off earlier in the year, so she decided to buy a new car. Now, I understand that it is most likely a complete necessity to have a reliable means of transportation, but it also seems that there should be a feasible alternative to buying a brand new car.  This commercial doesn't sound reasonable from a business standpoint?   What it sound like is an ad for a check cashing place, but I doubt that even a check cashing place would take checks from the unemployed.

Another example that makes me wonder if we've hit rock bottom or if we're still searching for it are the commercials that I see for colleges these days. I'm not referring to the online school that tell prospective students that they can study in their pajamas: I think that online schools serve a vital role in this country. Though some of these schools accreditation may be questionable, if administered properly, I see no reason why they should be any less viable than a traditional school. The advertisements that I am referring to however, have questionable slogans that should turn any would-be student off:  Slogans such as: "If he can do it, so can you.".  Not to be sexist, they also have versions where a woman is the poor example presented as proof that anyone can graduate from their school. Now, I know that they're just trying to appear "down with the youth", but I would be embarrassed to claim such a school as my Alma Mater. What do you say when someone asks where you went to school? "The one with the ghetto people who talk about how their lives were turned around by the school right before the announcers basically says ". . . if this idiot can graduate why couldn't you?  Not a very good selling point.

And then there are the ads that promote some of the worse fields of study. "Come to our school and learn construction management." I personally got laid off from that field, so trust me when I say you might as well wipe your ass with that degree. Same goes for IT, because those guys got laid off before me. I remember feeling sorry for them.

And then there the commercials that suggest that you watch "The Office" (TV show) while in your office. The place where you'll soon be fired from for watching "The Office". I wonder. If someone gets "canned" for this reason, can they sue the people promoting this kind of behavior? The answer is probably as perplexing as any of the sales pitched discussed in this article. When will the BS stop?
Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Sunday, September 12, 2010

Who wants to live forever?

Ever notice that the older you get, the younger your parents look. . .At least relatively. I look at older people, at least in their sixties and I realize that they look as old as their parents. An 80 year old mother looks more like the sister of her 60 year old daughter. Why would anyone choose to live longer with that possibility looming on the horizon? Let's say you could live until you were 200 years old. Your age would most likely be indistinguishable from that of your 220 year old mom or your dad for that matter. Personally, I think I would prefer to go out while I still look younger than my folks. What do you guys think?
Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Wednesday, August 25, 2010

Certifiable

    When did we become a country of bureaucracy? Why is certification such a big industry these days? Don't misunderstand me, I believe that certain industries do require some means of proving a professional's skills, especially in fields in which there are technological advances made on a regular basis or frequent updates to theories and/or methodology.  For example, a doctor should be up to date with the latest medical findings or the newest diagnostic equipment.  Engineers should have a grasp on the latest construction methods and materials related to their discipline, but why would an unarmed security guard need a license?
    Now, I do believe that they should have background checks, but how long could it take to teach someone how to use a timeclock or how to write an incident report? I was an unarmed security guard while I was in college and the only thing they taught me was how to dial 911. And if you look at the security guards out there today, dialing 911 is about all that they're capable of anyway. I personally would have little fear of a seventy year old man without a gun.  How many people are so into driving around in golf carts and wearing navy blue polyester that they want to make being and unarmed security guard a career?  But again, don't get me wrong, security guards serve an important role. I'm not knocking them. I'm knocking the entity that created yet another way to take hard earned dollars out of the pockets of those who work in these already low-paying jobs.
    Another position that I have difficulty justifying certification for is the nurses assistant. Of course they need things like CPR training, which is actually a prerequisite for the certified nurses assistant and they need to know how to roll a patience to make the bed, but does this really merit a three month course? What happened to "On the job training"?  What happened to "Candy Strippers"?
   And, for those who believe that certification promotes better candidates, I beg to differ.  My experience with certificates (all of which I have passed, so this rant isn't out of spite) is that too often there are ways to cheat the tests (which I did not do, but found a myriad of way in which to do so).  This fact forces the accrediting agency to finds ways in which to circumvent cheating, which sometimes entails asking questions that are based on topics not covered in the sanctioned course material.  An example that I can site is when I took one of the Microsoft Certification tests for Windows 2000. I passed the tests that I took, but only because of things that I had learned through experience.  I actually made a mental note of the questions I believed were not covered by Microsoft and scoured the relevant books to find any mention of these issues. . . Neither the questions nor the answers could be found.  Lucky for me, I had seen examples of the issue in question in the real world.  This was actually the reason I sought out an answer for this oversight, and what I found was that the answers for these tests were online.  This pissed me off to no end, because I studied my ass off and no longer felt a sense of accomplishment.  Because of this experience, I know why I have seen so many incompetent IT people in this field.  That is not to say that there are no good or great IT people . . . there are, I've met them and they admit to knowing of the high rate of incompetence exhibited by their follow colleagues.
    In conclusion, certification just seems like yet another way to make easy money off of those hard working individuals who don't make that much in the first place. I can't wait until McDonald's requires a cashiers certification.


Fabianmockian

Friday, August 13, 2010

Trailer Trash - Piranha 3D


Photobucket

Impression of the movie based on the Preview Trailer

Maybe someday we won't have to be subjected to movies that only appeal to the senses and not our sensibilities.  Maybe they'll stop making these mind numbingly bad movies when we stop going to them.  STOP GOING TO THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!  They're only getting worse.

Thursday, August 5, 2010

Billionaires Step Up

I posted this article a while back and in light if the pledge that Bill Gates, Warren Buffett and other Billionaires have made recently, I thought it appropriate to re-post it. Also, I believe that kudos are in order for these socially minded individuals, so I will post my own 'Thank you' when I have a chance to learn more about these generous people humanitarians.

Originally posted on July 7, 2010

If the theory that most of the world's wealth is possessed by so few than those Billionaires need to step up to the plate of humanity and knock one out of the park. There is no longer any need to hold onto your money so tightly: YOU HAVE IT ALL! And now that you do it will slowly become worthless. Or have you already made plans to switch over to a new form of currency? Are we going back to a modified system of slavery? One that isn't known as such? Interesting. . . Anyway, now that you hold all of the chips, the game is over. Why should the rest of us play by your rules? Measures must be taken to show us that you do still consider yourselves part of the Human Race. I am not saying to become philanthropists, but you could help those lowly millionaires increase the size of their coffers by giving them little projects to do here and there. Have them build a shrine in your image. Nothing too guady, maybe a statue that could date Lady Liberty and not feel self-conscious. They, in turn could assign me to manufacture a toe or something and I could but my kids that copper smelting kit they've had their eyes on for a while. Maybe you could buy one thing that's worth a billion dollars. I bet one else would have one. If you need suggestions, I'm available for the small fee of one thousand million dollars.

Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

Death of a Bee

He received the news on December 10, 2010. It was a Thursday and was like any other day, except this Thurday was his last. As he listened to the causes that were rattled off one by one, his heart slowed along with everything else, time included. Looking around the room, Chris felt sympathetic towards those who were delivering the news as well as those that were simply there as observers. It saddened him to think that this duty was part of their job description. Saddened because, though this was the end of the road for Chris, it was merely another stop for the man delivering the news and his protégé. Tomorrow, as Chris dealt with what he was being told, these two gentlemen would most likely have to sit before some other poor guy and sound the same death knell. That was how this epidemic worked. Chris leaned back in his chair and deemed himself lucky. Lucky, because unlike what he had heard about these disclosures, his was a semi-private affair. Only two others had fallen prey to the scourge this day, in this region. Normally, the news was delivered to ten or more and the end result was always panic. With ten or more in a room, the rumors always trickled from at least one doomed souls lips. The government could have contained the situation was the predominant argument, but there were others and all were incendiary. Once the spark of conspiracy ignited so too were the tempers of those in attendance. Perhaps that was the reason for the intimacy of this disclosure. Maybe the powers that be thought it best to deliver such news on smaller scale a much wiser approach. It then dawned on Chris that, if this smaller easier controlled group theory were true then there would be a few more of these intimate groups receiving the same news later today. Chris' heart sank further. As bad as he felt for himself, he couldn't help feel sorry for those for whom this news was still only speculation. Just as he had, those ignorant to their fate would have to endure the rumors and guessing games played to determine who would be next to be told to they were leaving.

That night Chris choked on the words as he gave the abridged version of the meeting. The look of terror on his wife's face was bad, but it was the confused looks of his daughters that striped him of his courage. The tears that moistened his cheeks burned his soul. What would become of them? Chris' concern was not for his kid's emotional well-being. He knew that all three were strong and would persevere, but he was worried about their future prospects. Financially, how would he and his wife cope with the rising cost of education. Gabi, the oldest was only five years away from college, while her younger sister would follow two years after her. What money would there be for either of them given the decaying economy? What money was there for the basic necessities of life. His loving wife worked, but like most teachers, her salary only served to make them ineligible for most government assistance. Bills would have to be prioritized. Food, though not rationed would have to be prepared in such a manner as to minimize waste. The life she had become accustomed to would have to change. In contrast to his daughters however, Chris was concerned about her emotionally: The man she fell in love with was no longer invincible. Chris wondered what else he would lose now that he was no longer gainfully employed.

…to be continued.
Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Monday, July 12, 2010

My Latest Work - Almost complete


On an unrelated note. My girlfriend commented on how sturdy and muscular my legs are. I told her that they were that way because I'm fat. It's like they're lifting weights all day.

Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Step up you Billionaires

If the theory that most of the world's wealth is possessed by so few than those Billionaires need to step up to the plate of humanity and knock one out of the park. There is no longer any need to hold onto your money so tightly: YOU HAVE IT ALL! And now that you do it will slowly become worthless. Or have you already made plans to switch over to a new form of currency? Are we going back to a modified system of slavery? One that isn't known as such? Interesting. . . Anyway, now that you hold all of the chips, the game is over. Why should the rest of us play by your rules? Measures must be taken to show us that you do still consider yourselves part of the Human Race. I am not saying to become philanthropists, but you could help those lowly millionaires increase the size of their coffers by giving them little projects to do here and there. Have them build a shrine in your image. Nothing too guady, maybe a statue that could date Lady Liberty and not feel self-conscious. They, in turn could assign me to manufacture a toe or something and I could but my kids that copper smelting kit they've had their eyes on for a while. Maybe you could buy one thing that's worth a billion dollars. I bet one else would have one. If you need suggestions, I'm available for the small fee of one thousand million dollars.
Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Saturday, June 26, 2010

Today on IM2

Part 5 of "Choices" On the "Stories" Page  (parts 1 - 4 in archives)

Going for Mediocrity, originally posted on June 26, 2010



Is it just me or does mankind seem to only be going for 'silver' as in humans seem to be content with finishing second or, in other words, we seem to be content with doing just enough to get by:  Corporate leaders seem to do just enough to make their  lives easier, politicians seem to do just enough to get elected.  And if these are the leaders of our planet, imagine how the rest of us underachievers are just skating by through life.  When I was a kid, I imagined that we would have flying cars like the Jetson's and bullet trains like the Japanese and the world in general would be a better place to live, but has this ideal future come to pass.  In my opinion, no and I believe that greed is at the root of our slow development, but it is not the reason.  The reason in my eyes is that, people seem to be content with being lead down the dark path on which we currently find ourselves.  Mega-companies get sympathy for being chastised when they create disasters,  Banks get money when they cause the collapse of the economy, which I would okay with if once restored, the economy was adjusted accordingly to avoid such calamities in the future, but have we seen this?  Banks chug along getting wealthier, by gambling the money that intended to bail them out of the bad debts that they created in the first place.  And if the prisons for crimes committed by white collar felons are as nice as I've heard then where is the real deterrent?  As for our leaders, why are we in a war based on lies, while those who spread the lies are out free and probably even richer because of the lies they told.  I thought there were laws that make it illegal to be compensated for crimes committed.  Why isn't lying about the reasons for war a felony?  And why isn't the fact that the catalyst for war being used as justification to get out of said war, which by the way has cost almost as much as the value of our national deficit.  Now, I know that this next bit of information may sound a little off and it is, but does anyone else out there find it peculiar that the cost of the war has always matched the cost of some other catastrophe.  A few examples are as follows:  The war in Iraq hit the 200 billion mark just when Katrina caused an estimated 200 billion in damage;  the TARP money was 700 billion, just as the war in Iraq reached 700 billion dollars and now our deficit is 1.6 trillion dollars and the war is at 1.3 trillion dollars.  Not that I think any of this is planned or thought out, but I think that KARMA is a bitch!

Saturday, June 19, 2010

Today on IM2

Part 5 of "Choices" On the "Stories" Page  (parts 1 - 4 in archives)
 

BP isn't alone (Story listed on this page)


Recently, all fingers have been pointing at British Petroleum (BP) for polluting the ocean with an obscene amount of oil, and while this blame is most certainly deserved, they are not the only group committing these crimes against nature.  If you want to know who else my be perpetrating such heinous acts as BP, simply look in the mirror.  You could be part of the reason for the floating garbage islands in the Pacific Ocean as could I, because every time that we fail to dispose of our waste properly it could find it's way to the largest body of water on Earth.  Check out this link to find out what I am talking about, and try to be more careful where you put your trash in the future.


Garbage Island Chain

Watch these videos to see what we are doing to the Ocean







And follow the link below to learn about other ways we pollute our planet and ways in which we could stop polluting it. This link will be posted permanently on the right side of my page later today.

Sunday, June 13, 2010

Stream of Thought

The World as Perceived, originally posted on June 13, 2010

The world as we know it is not true to more than one person at any particular time. There are absolutes, but these things most people understand only in the most rudimentary way. Those few who do possess the faculties to grasp the truest realities can no longer communicate or impart any knowledge of their understanding of the Universe or tie in their perceptions to those of lesser intellect. All that the rest of humanity can do is hope that all equations balance out. This might be less of a problem for most things that exist in this experiment of free will, but for those who choose to care, the balance ends when the past becomes the “Good Ole Days”. For most of humanity life was most joyous before doing anything of importance was considered a worthy pursuit. In the millions of seconds that lead up to any responsible act, whether it be a barrier broken; a hurdle cleared or a goal met; all achievements throughout history were, are and will have been tarnished by promised rewards. The second life’s clock differentiates between an individual’s time and that time owned by society true understanding of freedom is lost to all except the feeble-minded. As winded as most people might be by the passage of time, they never consider dropping out. The pull of the group’s will always circumvents the desire of the individual. Can life be fulfilled by the things with which we use to accessorize it? Has true happiness been found in any interactions other than those with one’s self or with those whom one surrounds one’s self? Are not those things that put the spit and polish to our self-image merely a means to the end previously mentioned? But do these accouterments of life enhance our understanding or perceptions of one another or do they simple blur the true nature of one’s true nature? Do we do just to do or do we do for our just deserts?

Tuesday, June 8, 2010

Hypocrolypse Now

In this world we live in, where the righteous seem to hold sway over the masses, it boggles my mind how much our elected officials and "religious leaders" get away with nowadays. In New York, the Governor gets ousted for frequenting prostitutes and his replacement doesn't seem to be much cleaner. The Governor from South Carolina is hiking the Appalachian Trail. Anti-gay activist George Rekers goes on a cruise with a male escort and most recently, Ted Haggard opened another church: Haggard was the minister in Colorado who preached against gay marriage, while engaging the services of a male prostitute and doing crystal meth. And although this behavior got him run out of town by his former church, it did not stop him. He is now back in business and straight as an arrow . . . Rearing, I mean raring to rid gay people of their homosexuality. The truth be told, what bothers me the most is not the behavior of people like those mentioned, but the forgiveness that always seems theirs for the asking. It is not necessarily the behavior that wins the hearts and minds of the public back over, it is simply their "word". Like Bush said, "Fool me once . . . Well, let's not dwell on what he said, we know what he meant and that given the hypocrisy of their indiscretions, how can they ever come back. I guess it shouldn't be a surprise to anyone, because hypocrisy thrives all around us: How is it illegal to drink and drive, but legal for gas stations to sell alcohol? And not just a six pack to drink at home, but ice cold, single cans of beer, which are chilled in a cooler next to the register. Why is prostitution banned, but pornography isn't? If a man or woman buys a prostitute, they are usually going to commit whatever act they will in private, or at least in a car, but porn is there for the world to see. Now, don't get me wrong. I'm neither condemning nor condoning the world of pornography, I just don't understand how one is legal and the other isn't. Maybe guys should start paying the ladies of the night to act like they're prostitutes. The basic point of my rant is this: If we don't open our eyes, we'll never see the wool that is being pulled over them. Wake up America!!!!!

Monday, June 7, 2010

To know or not to know . . .IDK

I recently watched a documentary about stupidity and the lack of any formal or scientific studies done to determine the extent of it in our society. The movie starts out by asking "people on the street" to describe this commonly used word and others that we direct at one another occasionally. Oddly enough, none of the impromptu interviews produced an answer. The story then provides the origins of such words as; idiot, imbecile and moron (which originated in Vineland, New Jersey), which is interesting, but not the focus of the film. The meat of the story is why people seemingly reject intellectual pursuits, while embracing mind-numbing programming on TV action movies based on comic books and all of the nonsensical clips on the internet. While, determining the nature of stupidity might seem a trivial pursuit, even stupid one, the point the filmmakers are trying to make isn't. A simple explanation would be that, if we unlock stupidity, we might be able to unlock intelligence, which is more important now than any time in mankind's past. If you are a George W. Bush fan, you'll want to stop the film at 55 minutes, which asserts that this former president and his administration believed that Americans were stupid and needed their guidance. Although I am not a fan of Bush Jr., I thought this segment detracted from the film, but that's my opinion. Overall, the film actually addresses a topic that needs to breach, but it does not dig deep enough. I think that a film called "Idiocracy" did a better job of spotlighting the problem with the path that we are all on . . . And it's funny.

Sunday, June 6, 2010

Global F*@k up!

I'm not certain, but I'm getting the feeling maybe we (The United States) shouldn't be involved with anything that has Global in the title:  Global economy, Global warming, global extinction (kind of unavoidable, but we should try).  And maybe. . . Let's avoid the term "Multinational" henceforth as well.

Saturday, June 5, 2010

I Wonder?

Given that some estimates put the number of stars in the Universe between 10-70 sextillion (the latter number is 7 with 22 zeroes after it), here is a  scenario to consider.


animation,aliens,life on other planets

Friday, June 4, 2010

Where's the Magic?

After you read this post, visit the "Stories" page for the next part of my original story "Choices".

I’ve lived in Miami a long time, so I believe that I am qualified to point out this city’s biggest shortfall. I don’t think I am the only person to realize this, and perhaps that’s why I am so puzzled as to why this idea has never truly surfaced in the past. Maybe, those who know it have simply accepted it as something that could never be changed or maybe those who care about such things have simply decided to leave.
To me, the city’s lack of amenities for the residents and tourists alike is what keeps Miami from being considered on par with the likes of New York and other big cities of the world. For my part, I stopped inviting family and friends to visit years ago, because one of the few things that I could suggest when they arrived was to jump in a rental car and drive up to Orlando. The alternatives were Key West or South Beach, but there is only so much lounging one can do and only so many breasts one can look at before the loud music and the obnoxious locals drives one away. The irony of it all is that I didn’t actually stop asking friends and family members to come, they simply lost interest on their own. Now, you might ask, why would people from the Midwest (where most of my friends and family live), not want to visit? The answer is relatively simple, but the solution is elusive, even with all of this Citys “charms”. Truth be told however, what is there to do here during the week, on the weekends, or even during the holidays? And despite what our city officials might have the public believe, they had nothing to do with creating the sunshine or the Atlantic.
With the mention of these two items, I have pointed out our greatest assets, which on their own do not make for a city great. If that were true, people would jump in their cars and crank up the air conditioner and they would never move away from the beach. We (residents) know however, that the sun burns and that South Beach loses its luster come daybreak and the endless parties get old when you have to get up at seven in the morning. So, tell me why are the event pages in our local papers so sparse, why do I have to be so envious of places like New York.
Of all of the things to do on the City’s Commissioners list of things to do, “Things to do” should be on the top. Miami needs more art, which means more galleries and a real museums, not one a visitor can traverse in fifteen minutes. It needs more music, more live music, because I keep hearing about how much culture this city has, because of the Latin influence, but I don’t even know where to hear live Salsa. Oh, there is plenty of “canned” music here with superstar deejays, playing other artist’s music, but what nice venues can you go to where you can hear an actual band play. And speaking of play, try more plays on for size. As “gay” as some might say this suggestion is, it would provide people with a choice, other than the movies. Now, I know that the Performing Arts Center (PAC) is there for those types of events and I applaud whoever was able to put that project together, but it is an island. . . in a not so good neighborhood. Maybe if Miami invested in more venues, smaller venues that didn’t cost so much, but created a variety of entertainment choices in one location. Perhaps then, we could start enticing people to come for the sun, but stay for culture. Maybe if there were things to do at night, other than go to a club or a movie, both of which people can do in their hometowns, visitors might not find themselves bored after a few days.
Stop spending so much money renovating all the buildings and let the city age for a while. That money would be better spent giving the residents reasons to get their friends and families to visit. Instead of attracting people here with shiny new high rises, why not give those who move here something to do outside their new domiciles? I don’t want to trivialize the more serious issues that plague the city. I know that we need to feed the hungry and house the homeless, but what happens to those who are less fortunate when one of our biggest revenue streams dries up, because people stop visiting?

Tuesday, June 1, 2010

Great Expectations

At this point in life, I thought that I would have a clear picture of where I wanted to be, but to my dismay, this has not proven to be the case.  I thought I would enjoy what I studied in college, but that couldn't be further from the truth.  For this reason, I am still trying to figure out what it is that I am good at and something for which I have a great passion.  Some, who know me well have seen how much I like to discuss the world, human interaction, art, music, technology, philosophy and much more, others would say that I don't speak that often.  This second group however is not really listening and they have every right not to listen, but they could never say they "KNOW" me.  Others still believe that I should pursue a career in art and I would have years back had I felt it were a lucrative field, but truth be told, it isn't lucrative for most artists.  Given these limited choices of talking for a career or painting, I've decided to go in another direction.

Currently, I am the 13,204,300 ranked amateur lottery player in florida, but my biggest hope is to one day go pro.

Please support me by clicking on the words "Vote for Chris" just below so I can get my OWN show on the Oprah Winfrey:

Vote for Chris



Thank you for your support.

Chris Ossman

Saturday, May 29, 2010

I M Getting Organized

My apologies for not updating the "Stories Page" as well as the "Dreams Page" I have been focused on producing an audition tape for a new show on the Oprah Winfrey Network. I have updated the "Stories Page" with the next installment of my story "Choices" and I will be updating the "Dreams Page" on Monday.

I will try to update IM2 Opinionated every weekday. Eventually, I will provide a schedule for the various topics that will be addressed on the blog. As far as the daily topic is concerned, these will be discussed on the "Home Page" and will be transferred to their respective page once a new article is posted.

Please vote for my by clicking on the link above the video below. You don't have to watch the video each time, but please vote as often as you can and tell your friends to do the same.

Thank you Chris


I would love to have my OWN show

I started this blog as a way to get my opinions heard, because I believe that not enough is said about what is wrong with the way our world is going. Corporations are running the world, an idea with which I do not inherently have an issue. The problem I do have is that too many of these corporations get away with things that they simply should not be allowed to get away with. British Petroleum (BP) is being treated with kid gloves, because ". . .we need them to clean up their mess." Well, of course we need them to clean up their mess, but why do we have to be nice about it? Is BP going to pack up its business and take it elsewhere? Who's a bigger glutton for oil than the great U.S. of A? I don't think so, but what BP will take away from those people living through this tragedy, our country and the world in general is immeasurable. To me BP and the subsequent treatment of this disaster will simply serve to represent yet another time that big business got away with crimes against humanity and nature. And although the impact on nature is a big concern, I personally believe that Mother Earth will be okay. Maybe, those creatures that are stuck in the oil slick these days will suffer and die, but we're in as much trouble, if not more than those poor animals. Most of those fat cats just can't see it, or more likely just don't want to see it. And the worse part of it all is that we (the public) let their injustices go on without raising so much as a finger in protest. As I stated my concern for the planet is not so great, because when Earth can no longer sustain mankind, it won't.

To this end, I will be submitting an audition tape to the Oprah Winfrey Network for consideration for my OWN show, so please take the time to vote for me from this Friday, May 28, 2010 until June 22, 2010 at the following link:

Vote for Chris

Thank you for your support.

Chris Ossman


P.S. - Michael Brown - I know you didn't accuse anyone of reacting slowly to a disaster?

Check out these cool and interesting books





Wednesday, May 26, 2010

I would love my OWN TV show

I started this blog as a way to get my opinions heard, because I believe that not enough is said about what is wrong with the way our world is going. Corporations are running the world, an idea with which I do not inherently have an issue. The problem I do have is that too many of these corporations get away with things that they simply should not be allowed to get away with. British Petroleum (BP) is being treated with kid gloves, because ". . .we need them to clean up their mess." Well, of course we need them to clean up their mess, but why do we have to be nice about it? Is BP going to pack up its business and take it elsewhere? Who's a bigger glutton for oil than the great U.S. of A? I don't think so, but what BP will take away from those people living through this tragedy, our country and the world in general is immeasurable. To me BP and the subsequent treatment of this disaster will simply serve to represent yet another time that big business got away with crimes against humanity and nature. And although the impact on nature is a big concern, I personally believe that Mother Earth will be okay. Maybe, those creatures that are stuck in the oil slick these days will suffer and die, but we're in as much trouble, if not more than those poor animals. Most of those fat cats just can't see it, or more likely just don't want to see it. And the worse part of it all is that we (the public) let their injustices go on without raising so much as a finger in protest. As I stated my concern for the planet is not so great, because when Earth can no longer sustain mankind, it won't.

To this end, I will be submitting an audition tape to the Oprah Winfrey Network for consideration for my OWN show, so please take the time to vote for me from this Friday, May 28, 2010 until June 22, 2010 at the following link:

Vote for Chris

Thank you for your support.

Chris Ossman

P.S. - Michael Brown - I know you didn't accuse anyone of reacting slowly to a disaster?

Check out these cool and interesting books





Monday, May 24, 2010

Karma

Now, I might not be the most religious guy in the room. I just haven't found one that I felt comfortable believing, but I do feel that I am spiritual. I believe that their is something out there that created us (mankind) or at least had a hand in our creation, but omnipotence and omniscience is a stretch for me. However this higher power rules or guides or treats us is less important to me than how we treat one another. Wouldn't it make sense that if our creator deemed us as his favorite, he or it would want us to treat one another with respect and kindness? Or maybe this almighty doesn't want us to get along. Maybe this life is some kind of stress test for the next one and if that is the case, I don't want any part of it. Personally, I believe that kindness breeds kindness, no matter what religion you belong to. I believe that whatever you put out there comes back to you, and this is actually the point of today's daily observation. What if the America and the world are doing to poorly these days because we have been treating each other with a certain amount of contempt? What if the world continues to worsen as hatred and strife grow around the planet? Maybe something or someone is trying to signal us that the direction we are taking the planet is not the direction hoped for at the beginning of this experiment. To me it seems quite obvious that we might want to diverge from our present course, perhaps even take a few steps back to see where we're going wrong. On the other hand, I could be wrong and the direction that we are heading is just fine: Greed is good, unless you're on the losing end, poverty is not that big of a problem, starvation is nothing that needs to be stamped out and war is the way to go to get to peace.

P.S. - Check out three of my favorite books below
































Search Engine Optimization and SEO Tools

Saturday, May 22, 2010

Week Ending May 23, 2010

Today on IM2
Click on the Titles in Quotations to go to the post


On Daily Observations   

"Sci Fi . . . Why?"


Why does the Sci Fi channel insist on bombarding its
viewers with terrible movies about dragons and ogres
and other creatures of fantasy?


On the Stories Page

"Choices"

Part 3  May 25, 2010

A short about grief, belief and murder will be presented in this five part series. Click on the title of this post or the "Stories" link above and check back weekly for each new installment.




On the Art Page

"My Art"

I have placed my art on the art page and will be posting new work as it becomes available.



On the Off the Wall Page

"Aliens protest allegations of anal probing"



On the Dreams Page

"Two Friends"

Next update will be - May 25, 2010



Search Engine Optimization and SEO Tools





Thursday, May 20, 2010

New Postings

Today on IM2
Click on the Titles in Quotations to go to the post


On Daily Observations   

"Sci Fi . . . Why?"

Why does the Sci Fi channel insist on bombarding its viewers with terrible movies about dragons and ogres and other creatures of fantasy?

On the Stories Page

"Choices"

Part 3  May 25, 2010

A short about grief, belief and murder will be presented in this five part series. Click on the title of this post or the "Stories" link above and check back weekly for each new installment.



On the Art Page

"My Art"

I have placed my art on the art page and will be posting new work as it becomes available.


On the Off the Wall Page

"Aliens protest allegations of anal probing"


On the Dreams Page

"Two Friends"

Next update will be - May 25, 2010

Thursday, May 6, 2010

Art

The art, which can be found in the sidebar on the right side of this page and it will display my art and the art of artists I appreciate, whether they be established or otherwise. Any artist interested in displaying their art on this blog, please notify me by comment.

Wednesday, May 5, 2010

Call for Information

Now, I know that I will be considered too liberal and, to be quite honest, I don't care, but I would like to be informed when I speak or write. So to this end I would love to hear from people who consider themselves conservative and would like to enlighten me on the virtues of the Republican party. So, to all of those with opposing views, please send me articles, links or whatever other material you deem informative and truthful. The only requirement that I have for these counter point articles or links is that they only contain facts. I do not want statistics that were gathered by groups that might have an agenda based on religious beliefs or financial ties to any particular industry: For example, I wouldn't want any stats from the "God Hates Fags" people or the Intelligent Design people.

Now for those who lean more towards my opinions, I would appreciate the same as long as your sources meet the same requirements mentioned above.

Commonsense and Complacency

Commonsense and complacency, one of which America lacks while the other is both dangerously abundant and and growing, are just two of the factors that I think is leading our great nation in a perilous direction. A path that, given our recent history (Say the past 25-30 years), we will most likely continue to travel to our own destruction. Dramatic as this may sound, what evidence is there to the contrary? The answer most certainly does not lay in technology, which since the advent of the personal computer has simply been mostly bells and whistles. Don't misunderstand me, I do know that there are some extremely helpful inventions and ideas that have blossomed in the past fifty years that have actually served mankind as intended by the respective creators, but few have shaped society. And after all, society is what matters to humans most, because it is a civil society that the majority of us seek: One in which we can live our lives the way that pleases us the most, and why should or would anyone really want to deny anything less. The truth of the matter however is that there are those individuals who do hope for your personal failure and or destruction (in some radical sects). This is because it is only through you downfall that they can elevate themselves, gaining more power, money or glory of which they can boast to friends, family or other figures of authority.

It is this group; the power hungry, greedy or religious fanatics that seems to have pulled the wool over the eyes of their flocks. As for religion, I do not want to touch upon that issue in this discussion. It is too inflammatory and my believes are my own (I don't need them scrutinized. . . just yet). I would however like to address the other two groups who have strung this country along for so many years that the actions they have set in motion no longer need assistance to keep up their momentum. The people of the United States no longer use their senses as God (or whatever Deity you pray to) intended them to be used. I believe this wholeheartedly, because too many things that should be examined or at least made note of go unseen. Point in fact, and I apologize for this reference made in hindsight, George Bush was a terrible candidate for the top political office in this country. To date I have not seen any accomplishment of his that would convince me otherwise. If he handed in a resume listing his GPA from college, he could not get a job in the agency (CIA) of which his own father was the head at one time. If he focused on his business achievements, he could work at any of the businesses that he ran into the ground. He could however work on wall street, because just as there are bank too big to fail, wall street had jobs that were too lucrative to ignore. GW would have made a mint working on the stock exchange, where success does not seem to be an option. As far as him being reelected because he was the the War President, how could America swallow that load of crap. Who in their right mind would follow that guy into battle? Let's say that instead of being the president, George W. Bush was your squad leader and you knew everything that we all know about him know . . . Would you follow him? But the majority of the country did. I still don't get that one. I remember when it was time to reelect GW or kick his ass out of office, I spoke to a close friend of mine who didn't think there was any way that he could get reelected. And, although I hoped he wouldn't get reelected, I felt that this country would fall pray to its own complacency and vote him in again. I told me friend that when that happened, the U.S. would see just how bad it can get and four years later, as he's leaving office, our economy crumbles. But does Bush really get any of the fallout from this financial meltdown . . . No and maybe he shouldn't, but neither should Barack Obama, who I am not defending here other than to point out once again that, if GW is faultless than how the hell could Obama be to blame. And, while I speaking about Barack Obama, I believe that his being elected as president, while indicating racial equality in this country has also exposed racism at the same time. I see it in the lack of respect that he gets from some of the other politicians as well as in the fact that just because Charlie Crist hugged Obama, he has fallen out of favor with the Republican party. You would think that Crist had hugged Usama Bin Laden.

But, I digress. A much simpler statement of what I am trying to get across here would be to say that America is complacent, because we do not let our voices be heard at the displeasure we feel towards those who control out fate. How do the Whales of wall street get paid so much when they hurt some many. . . I would love to see a stat on how many deaths have been caused due to so much financial manipulation. I would think that it has to give even the most prolific serial killer a run for his money. And what America lack in complacency, it makes up in un-commonsense: If you were doing better before George Bush was in office then you were at the end of his second term, than how why would you blame the guy who inherited Bush's mess so much? Why was McCain the obvious choice to help us out with the situation in Iraq? Because he got captured while he served? This makes him a war hero, which I would never deny, but it doesn't make him a great strategist. If anything, it would imply just the opposite. Why would anyone vote McCain into office, at least in 2008, when just weeks prior to the collapse, he claimed that the economy was fine. I actually liked him until the reports of the first reports of economic trouble started rolling in. Why would I believe that someone who didn't see the problem could fix the problem. And then there was one of his biggest decision before taking office, his running mate. It was as if he picked G.W. half sister as his vice president, but all of those staunch Republicans believed in this unknown element. And, this too, I could forgive, because I thought that he simply knew something that the rest of us didn't know. But when she opened her mouth, and the crap that fell out stank up McCain's campaign, all bets were off. How could anyone vote for the Republican nominee, given his first decision? If Sarah Palin is such a good candidate, why does she look so bad when she speaks? She seems even less suited for the office of president than George Walker Bush seemed in 1999, but there are those who love her . . . Why????????????????????????????????

Saturday, May 1, 2010

Health Care Reform

Now that the Health Care Reform Bill has been passed,
I couldn't help but notice how many Republicans have
been screaming for its repeal. This, to me, is a sign
that Obama is onto something that might actually benefit
the people of the United States. I would actually be
more concerned if the GOP agreed with this plan, because
during the Bush administration, I got the sinking
feeling that the government didn't necessarily have my
best interests at heart. Between the war in Iraq; the
response to hurricane Katrina and the shambles in which
GW left the economy, I can't understand how anyone could
believe otherwise. Of course, those proponents of Bush
will claim that, no single man or administration could
be to blame for the economy all while blaming Obama and
the current administration for the failed banking system
and the injustices committed on wall street. What is
also odd to me, is that many of the changes presented
in the HCR bill were originally presented by Republicans
who, in some cases signed these ideas into law in their
respective states. The stench coming from D.C. is
strong but America must have a severe head cold,
because no one seems to be able to detect the
pungent smell of hypocrisy.

God Bless You America

Friday, April 30, 2010

Introduction

In this setting, I will speak on the issues of the day, providing insight as seen from my perspective.

Chris Ossman
There was an error in this gadget

I M 2 Traffic Tracker